An Actress Interview: Theatre in Action

Hello everyone, as promised today I bring you an interview with one of our own CTWers whom shall go by the alias Butterfly. Today she wishes to bring forth her passion for theatre, acting, and the experiences and lessons learned. Thank you Butterfly for participating!
Q. How do you warm up and practice each day? How often and long do you do it for?
A. When there’s not a show going on, I actually don’t practice, besides doing some random singing. And warm ups vary from show to show.
Q. How do you handle forgetting a part during the show? How did you handle this in the past?
A. Hmm. I am terrible at not showing I messed up. In my first show, when I so much as stuttered, you could see that I was very disappointed in myself on my face. I don’t think I’ve really forgotten my lines, but when others do, I freeze up. Thankfully, I’ve never been on a one on one situation when a) someone missed their cue, b) someone forgot their lines.
Q. Who has been the greatest influence on your love for theatre, and how has this shaped your experiences?
A. Oh my gosh, so many people. There’s my theatre director, Mr. C, my amazing friends, my best friend who pushes me into things I’m hesitant to do, and mainly people who I admire SO MUCH. I want so badly to be like them, and I try my best to.
Q. What has been your most memorable memory in the theatre where you felt the proudest and most accomplished? Who do you have to thank for this experience?
A. When I first did my Positoovity dance (from the Little Mermaid last fall) in front of a real, paying audience. I was so upset over this dance for a long time, mainly because I’ve never been in a musical before. I was so happy when I was dancing. I would thank my theater director, Mr. C, my choreographer and dance teacher, my dance partners, our costumer, and my makeup artist.
Q. What advice would you give to new people in the theater world? Who originally gave you this advice?
A. Don’t be afraid to really look stupid when acting. I know when I first joined, I was shy to try things, and I felt like people would judge me on how silly I look when I act. Last summer, I went to this theater camp and there was this one lady there who taught us improv. She said “If everybody looks stupid, nobody looks stupid.” It’s kind of where I started realizing that everyone in this show understands; nobody is going to judge if you look stupid. I promise. Let it loose; don’t be afraid to show your outgoing silly self.
Q. What kind of theatre do you specialize in? Do you plan to continue on this passion?
A. Acting, though I do want to learn lighting, sound, and makeup. Yes yes yes!
wells-theatre-norfolk-virginian-seats-63328
Again, thank you, Butterfly, for sharing with the rest of CTW! We really appreciate your time and effort in the interview.
Leave a Reply

